Group photo

This summer, 7 students from MU are studying in Leipzig and Berlin for a six-week program offered by the Department of German & Russian Studies. After a successful seminar on the media landscape in contemporary Germany, hosted by Prof.

German graduate student Audrey Case, one of several Mizzou students awarded the Fulbright grant for 2017, was quoted in a press release from the Fellowships Office:

Mariia Gorshkova, Olga Savchenko, Patricia Maurer show off their TA Choice Awards

Congratulations to Mariia Gorshkova (first year Russian TA), Olga Savchenko (second year Russian TA), and Patricia Maurer (second year German TA).

Donovan portrait

Congratulations to German and Fine Arts Major Jessie Donovan, who was the recipient of the Undergraduate Resident Arts Exhibition Award at the 2017 Visual Art & Design Showcase here at MU.

Martha Kelly

Dr. Martha Kelly's Spring 2016 course "Pepsi, Putin, Pussy Riot, and Protest: Post-Soviet Literature in Russia" was featured in an article by Maggie Teson for MU's Teaching and Learning Center. Read more at the source or view the full text here.

German Club 1915-1916

This picture belonged to Alfred H. Nolle (top row, third from left), St. Charles, MO. After receiving a B.A. at the University of Missouri, he earned an M.A. and Ph.D. in German athte University of Pennsylvania. He spent most of his professional life at Southwest Texas State College, San Marcos, where he was Dean of the College. He retired about 1960 and died about 1979. Photo courtesy Luverne Walton.

The next time you visit the Department of German & Russian Studies in 448 Strickland Hall, feel free to get a closer look at this photo of the German Club of 1915-1916!


Congratulations to Huichun Liang, who has been awarded the Arts & Science Purple Chalk Award!